lumbung

lumbung is the Indonesian word for a communal rice-barn, where the surplus harvest is stored for the benefit of the community.

Animation Shape Placeholder

lumbung is the concrete practice adopted on the path towards documenta fifteen in 2022 and beyond. Here, lumbung is to be understood as a kind of pooled collective resource based on the principle of communality. This will combine ideas, knowledge, human resources, funding and other shareable resources and will build on specific values, rituals and organizational principles. At the heart of lumbung is the envisioning and development of these collective, shared resources for new sustainability models and cultural practices. These are supported through residency programs, meetings, public activities and the development of related tools.

Interdisciplinary approaches are essential to this process. As activities and spaces emerge, social relationships and transactions dovetail — eventually taking public form in a slow and organic development so as to “live in and with society.” This strategy paints a picture of the relationship between an arts organization and its community — an organization that itself becomes an active part of its environment, establishing itself on the basis of local proximity and consideration of existing desires.

Drawing of a lumbung

Iswanto Hartono, lumbung drawing, 2020

The basic principles of the process are

  • Providing space to gather and explore ideas
  • Collective decision making
  • Non-centralization
  • Interplay between formalities and informalities
  • Practicing assembly and meeting points
  • Conscious use of architecture
  • Spatial activity to stimulate conversations
  • Melting pot of any thoughts, energies and ideas

The idea of solidarity and friendship expressed in the lumbung model is realized within its anchoring locally, a regional lumbung network in Kassel, in which many local participants are called upon to get involved, as well as in an international network of lumbung members founded for documenta fifteen. For this, ruangrupa and the Artistic Team have invited collectives, organizations and initiatives that share the values of lumbung through their inspiring methods, their deep artistic roots in local social structures and their experimental organizational and economic approaches. The lumbung network at documenta fifteen counts fourteen lumbung members:

Each of the lumbung members will bring different resources to the collective rice barn. Together, they will build a long-term discourse beyond documenta fifteen, thereby increasing the well-being of their respective local institutions as well as their entire ekosistem through shared knowledge, solidarity and resources.

lumbung members

Meet all

Newsletter

lumbung

lumbung ist das indonesische Wort für eine gemeinschaftlich genutzte Reisscheune, in der die überschüssige Ernte zum Wohle der Gemeinschaft gelagert wird.
Animation Shape Placeholder

lumbung wird die konkrete Praxis auf dem Weg zur documenta fifteen im Jahr 2022 und danach sein. Hierbei ist lumbung als eine Art kollektiver Ressourcenfundus zu verstehen, der auf dem Prinzip von Gemeinschaftlichkeit beruht. Dieser versammelt Ideen, Wissen, Arbeitskraft, Finanzmittel und andere gemeinsam nutzbare Ressourcen und baut auf bestimmten Werten, Ritualen und Organisationsprinzipien auf. Im Mittelpunkt von lumbung stehen die Vorstellung und der Aufbau dieser kollektiven, geteilten Ressourcen für neue Nachhaltigkeitsmodelle und kulturelle Praktiken. Jene werden durch Residency-Programme, Zusammenkünfte, öffentliche Aktivitäten und die Entwicklung von entsprechenden Instrumenten unterstützt.

Interdisziplinäre Herangehensweisen sind für diesen Prozess wesentlich. Indem Aktionen und Räume entstehen, verflechten sich soziale Beziehungen und Transaktionen, die in einer langsamen und organischen Entwicklung schließlich eine öffentliche Form finden, um „in und mit der Gesellschaft zu leben“. Diese Strategie zeichnet ein Bild der Beziehungen zwischen einer Kunstorganisation und ihrer Community – eine Organisation, die selbst aktiver Bestandteil ihrer Umgebung wird und sich auf der Basis von örtlicher Nähe und der Berücksichtigung bestehender Wünsche konstatiert.

Zeichung eines lumbung, einer gemeinschaftlich genutzten Reisscheune, in der die überschüssige Ernte zum Wohle der Gemeinschaft gelagert wird.

Iswanto Hartono, lumbung Zeichnung, 2020

Die Grundprinzipien des Prozesses sind

  • Bereitstellung von Raum, um Ideen zu sammeln und zu erkunden
  • Kollektive Entscheidungsfindung
  • Auflösung von Zentralisierung
  • Spiel zwischen Formalitäten und Informalitäten
  • Organisation von Zusammenkünften und Treffpunkten
  • Bewusster Umgang mit Architektur
  • Räumliche Aktivität zur Anregung von Gesprächen
  • Schmelztiegel jedweder Gedanken, Energien und Ideen

Die sich im lumbung-Modell ausdrückende Idee von Solidarität und Freundschaft verwirklicht sich in der lokalen Verankerung, einem regionalen lumbung-Netzwerk in Kassel, bei dem viele Beteiligte vor Ort zur Mitwirkung aufgerufen sind sowie in einem für die documenta fifteen gegründeten internationalen Netzwerk der lumbung member. Hierfür haben ruangrupa und das Artistic Team Kollektive, Organisationen und Initiativen eingeladen, die aufgrund ihrer inspirierenden Methoden, ihrer tiefgreifenden künstlerischen Verwurzelung in lokalen sozialen Strukturen und ihren experimentellen organisatorischen und ökonomischen Ansätzen den Werten von lumbung entsprechen. Zum lumbung-Netzwerk der documenta fifteen zählen vierzehn lumbung member:

Jedes der lumbung member wird verschiedene Ressourcen in die kollektive Reisscheune einbringen. Gemeinsam werden sie einen langfristigen Diskurs über die documenta fifteen hinaus aufbauen, in dessen Verlauf das Wohlergehen ihrer jeweiligen lokalen Einrichtungen sowie ihres gesamten Ecosystems durch geteiltes Wissen, Solidarität und Ressourcen gesteigert wird.

lumbung member

Alle zeigen

Newsletter

Jetzt anmelden