working group

lumbung Gallery

lumbung Gallery takes the practice of lumbung as a network and the economic model at documenta fifteen as a starting point to create a collectively governed, non speculative, and regenerative gallery model.
The longer term aim is to rethink ownership, collecting, exhibiting, and authorship in the frame of the gallery.

documenta fifteen: lumbung gallery, Harvest von Dan Perjovschi, 2022

Using the parameters of existing art economies it aims to “transvest” resources towards a more commons based economy following the lumbung values. lumbung Gallery is also considered a tool and learning program enabling similar initiatives around the globe.

During and after the 100 days of documenta fifteen, many artworks by the lumbung members and lumbung artists can be supported front stage in Kassel at ruruHaus and online. The gallery space during documenta is documenta itself. The gallery is guided by the practice and the values of lumbung.

The pricing of the artworks will be based on the collective’s basic needs and the artists’ basic income in addition to production costs and other material condition variables rather than speculative market prices. There will also be non-monetary exchange, as well as affordable artworks.

documenta fifteen: lumbung gallery, Harvest einer Working Group Diskussion von Dan Perjovschi, 2022

The non profit art platform TheArtists was invited to collaborate with the lumbung Gallery working group on developing and managing the lumbung Gallery. TheArtists support artists by exhibiting their work, coaching, mentoring, giving legal advice, and selling while maintaining transparency. Additionally, artworks will be available for viewing on the online platform of the lumbung Gallery in collaboration with TheArtists.

Governed by the lumbung Gallery working group and TheArtists, lumbung Gallery is registered as a “Verein” and is planned to continue existing beyond documenta fifteen.

Newsletter

Working Group

lumbung Gallery

Ausgehend von der Praxis von lumbung als Netzwerk und wirtschaftliches Modell der documenta fifteen erprobt lumbung Gallery das Modell einer gemeinsam verwalteten, nicht-spekulativen und regenerativen Galerie.

Langfristig sollen dadurch Vorstellungen von Eigentum, Sammeln, Ausstellen und Autor*innenschaft neu gedacht werden.

documenta fifteen: lumbung gallery, Harvest von Dan Perjovschi, 2022

Innerhalb der Parameter bestehender Kunstökonomien versucht lumbung Gallery, Ressourcen hin zu einer stärker gemeinwohlorientierten Wirtschaftsweise, basierend auf den lumbung-Werten, zu verschieben. Langfristig sollen dadurch Vorstellungen von Eigentum, Sammeln, Ausstellen und Autor*innenschaft neu gedacht werden. lumbung Gallery möchte damit ähnlichen Initiativen auf der ganzen Welt als Vorbild dienen.

Während der 100 Tage der Ausstellungslaufzeit der documenta fifteen und darüber hinaus kann die künstlerische Produktion der lumbung member und lumbung-Künstler*innen unmittelbar vor Ort im ruruHaus sowie online unterstützt werden. Während der documenta dient also die documenta selbst als Galerie – angeleitet von der lumbung-Praxis und ihren Werten.

Statt an spekulativen Marktpreisen orientiert sich die Preisgestaltung der Arbeiten an den finanziellen Grundbedürfnissen der Kollektive und Künstler*innen sowie den Produktionskosten und anderen Variablen. Hinzu kommen nicht-monetäre Tauschsysteme und ein Angebot bezahlbarer Kunst.

documenta fifteen: lumbung gallery, Harvest einer Working Group Diskussion von Dan Perjovschi, 2022

Die lumbung Gallery working group hat die non-profit Kunstplattform TheArtists eingeladen die lumbung Gallery gemeinsam zu entwickeln und zu leiten. TheArtists unterstützt Künstler*innen durch Ausstellungen, Coaching, Mentoring und beim transparenten Verkauf ihrer Arbeiten. Außerdem werden die Kunstwerke auf der Online-Plattform der lumbung Gallery in Zusammenarbeit mit TheArtists zu sehen sein.

Die lumbung Gallery ist ein eingetragener Verein und soll über die documenta fifteen hinaus fortbestehen.

Newsletter