Working Group

lumbung Land

Experimentation with sustainable economies is at the heart of documenta fifteen.

The various working groups are ways of sharing knowledge and building a long-term lumbung of collective resources. Like this, the ideas and actions that emerged before and during the exhibition in Kassel can be continued, linked, and translated to other contexts.

From wider discussions in a working group called lumbung Economy, several other working groups have emerged. Each of these develops a specific practice: From the concept for a slow trade and regenerative store, to community currencies, to a gallery that works with non speculative pricing and benefit for the community, these working groups are: lumbung Kios, lumbung Gallery, lumbung Currency, and lumbung Land.

Experimentations with land development models

Land is one of the most fundamental approaches to the lumbung Economy. It is a space where a community has agency, can govern resources collectively and build a lumbung value based economy and independent artistic practice. Many lumbung members and lumbung artists are, however, confronted with issues such as land grabbing, climate injustice, or lack of resources to acquire land, which harms their sustainability and their autonomous artistic practices. Others work with land that is restituted and questions of how to recreate collective imaginary around land.
­
Looking into holistic models for land to be cultivated, collectively owned, or to thrive from human and non-human perspectives, the working group lumbung Land experiments with land development models combining culture, agriculture, and ecology. Also, they are developing ways to collectively “invest” in specific land development projects by members. The group defines the return and the value that come from the land. Next to the land investment group in 2021, a discursive working group lumbung Land, emerged from discussions.

Land, soil, collective governance, memory of lost or regained land, and (urban) gardening are common themes in many artistic works shown at documenta fifteen. The projects discuss how cultural production can help re-imagine the relationship to land: How can experimentations contribute to develop new utopias which deconstruct those imagined by modernists? Could indigenous poetry, imagery, and songs be the key to an imaginary around land that is non extractivist and builds on the agency of the humans and non-humans living on the land?

Beyond documenta fifteen

The working group lumbung Land continues to work after the end of the duration of documenta fifteen. The members meet in South Africa in November 2022 during a post documenta event organized by lumbung artist MADEYOULOOK to harvest the learnings during documenta fifteen and lay out the collaborations for the coming years. lumbung member Jatiwangi art Factory is organizing New Rural Agenda activities in September 2022 in Central Java, while INLAND is harvesting from the land it owns in the North of Spain.

Some specific examples of artistic projects on land in documenta fifteen are:

documenta fifteen: MADEYOULOOK, Mafolofolo, 2022, installation view, Hotel Hessenland, Kassel, June 15, 2022, Photo: Frank Sperling

lumbung artist MADEYOULOOK’s work for documenta fifteen emerges from several years of research on contemporary urgencies on land in South Africa and elsewhere. The collective’s contribution is twofold: first, MADEYOULOOK seeks to connect the work of their community of growers, farmers, and land practitioners from around the world to the ekosistem in Kassel through a series of discursive events: film screenings, listening sessions, and small-scale discussions referred to as garden talks. Second, through an 8-channel sound work and a floor installation at Hotel Hessenland, the collective considers questions of spiritual security and repair as they relate to land, as well as the deep and enduring relationships with the land that remain, despite the longue durée of South Africa’s turbulent and destabilising existence.

documenta fifteen: INLAND, 2018, Photo: Marta Goro

For INLAND, a relation with land is not speculative or conceptual. It involves honoring ancestors and all other beings. By cultivating and caring, the collective seeks to develop productive projects that allow for Food Sovereignty in alliance with the Indigenous and peasant global movements.

For the working group, lumbung member INLAND proposes various actions: Counseling a series of upcoming land-based art projects in different parts of the world, from Palestine to Northern Sweden; intervening in a piece of forest that is currently an Eucalyptus monoculture, and designing its transition to a biodiverse, agro-silvo-pastoralist ecosystem as a part of the Shepherds School (started in 2004); recovering an abandoned village in Spain with the aim to function as learning experience and space for other lumbung members. A series of podcasts and a publication are being developed as well.

A meadow with olive trees and a wall on the right side.

Marwa Arsanios, still from Who is Afraid of Ideology? Part 4, 28′, 2021, courtesy the artist

In the latest of her ongoing film series Who is Afraid of Ideology (since 2017), which is shown during documenta fifteen lumbung artist Marwa Arsanios tackles the question of the history of property in the Ottoman territory from legal, economic, and political perspectives. It delves into a research process with the participation of a lawyer, a historian, a philosopher, farmers, and a scientist in order to think through the possibility of de-privatizing a plot of land. The materialist and new materialist approach to land, as well as the historical perspective will help build the juridical argument towards de-privatization. With her film she aims at building a sort of manual that could be eventually used legally. Through this process, together with the participants of the film, Arsanios tries to build a model for the relation to land that goes beyond ownership, referring to a moment that precedes the colonial institutionalization of the private property regime.

lumbung member Jatiwangi art Factory explores to what extent it is possible to redefine the rural as a concept that becomes an entry point for discussing a common future. With this mission, the collective has developed the New Rural Agenda—a transnational summit among rural community networks.

documenta fifteen: New Rural Agenda Summit, Jatiwangi art Factory, 2022, Friedrichsplatz, Kassel, 21. Juni 2022, Foto: Martha Friedel

The summit is preceded by the New Rural School, a series of knowledge and narrative exchanges in the form conferences, amateur radio talks, urun posters and the Bulletin Rural School. It emphasizes diverse perspectives from below and peripheries, challenging uniform ideas of progress and sustainability.

New Rural Agenda’s summit was held in Kassel on June 21, 2022 during documenta fifteen where the stakeholders convened and produced Piagam Martabat Penghuni Bumi—the Earth Inhabitants’ Charter of Dignities. Perhutana (short for Indonesian Perusahaan Hutan Tanaraya which means Tanaraya Forest Company) is part of the New Rural Agenda. The project aims to reclaim land in order to grow a Sacred Forest. Everyone who is interested, can buy a land lot of 4 m x 4 m which will be a part of the forest. In return stakeholders receive a certificate, made of soil brick. Additionally, buyers get a NFT certificate which they convert into currency. After each land lot is sold and planted, the Ministry of Forest registers Perhutana as an Indigenous forest for those who live in the region.

Newsletter

Working Group

lumbung Land

Die Working Group lumbung Land ist eine Zusammenarbeit der lumbung member und lumbung-Künstler*innen INLAND, Jatiwangi art Factory, LE 18, La Intermundial Holobiente, MADEYOULOOK, Marwa Arsanios, Subversive Film, Serigrafistas Queer, Wajukuu Art Project und anderen.

Das Experimentieren mit nachhaltigen Wirtschaftsformen ist das Herzstück der documenta fifteen.

Die verschiedenen Working Groups ermöglichen das Teilen von Wissen und den langfristigen Aufbau von lumbung als Fundus an kollektiven Ressourcen. Auf diese Weise können die Ideen und Aktionen, die sich vor und während der Ausstellung in Kassel entwickelten, fortgesetzt, verknüpft und in andere Kontexte übertragen werden.

Aus breiter geführten Diskussionen in einer Working Group namens lumbung Economy haben sich weitere Working Groups entwickelt. Jede dieser Arbeitsgruppen erforscht eine spezifische Praxis: Vom Konzept für einen durch slow trade betriebenen, regenerativen Laden über Gemeinschaftswährungen bis hin zu einer Galerie, deren Preise nicht spekulativ sind und die zum Nutzen der Gemeinschaft arbeitet. Diese Working Groups heißen lumbung Kios, lumbung Gallery, lumbung Currency und lumbung Land.

Experimente mit Modellen der Landentwicklung

Land (im Sinne von Grund und Boden) ist einer der grundlegendsten Denkansätze für die lumbung Economy. Es bezeichnet einen Raum, in dem eine Gemeinschaft über Handlungskompetenzen verfügt, Ressourcen kollektiv verwalten und eine auf lumbung-Werten basierende Wirtschaft und unabhängige künstlerische Praxis aufbauen kann. Da viele lumbung member und lumbung-Künstler*innen jedoch mit Problemen des Landraubs, der Klimagerechtigkeit oder fehlender Mittel für den Erwerb von Grundstücken konfrontiert sind, werden ihre Nachhaltigkeit sowie ihre autonome künstlerische Praxis beeinträchtigt. Andere beschäftigen sich mit Land, das restituiert wurde, und mit der Neuschöpfung einer kollektiven Vorstellung von Land.

Die Working Group lumbung Land sucht nach ganzheitlichen Modellen für die Bewirtschaftung, den kollektiven Besitz oder das Gedeihen von Land aus menschlicher und nicht-menschlicher Perspektive. Sie erprobt dabei Modelle der Landentwicklung, welche Kultur, Landwirtschaft und Ökologie verbinden. Außerdem entwickeln ihre Mitglieder Möglichkeiten, kollektiv in ihre eigenen Projekte zur Landentwicklung zu „investieren“. Die Gruppe definiert die Rendite und den Wert, den das Land einbringt. Neben der Working Group für Landinvestitionen von 2021 hat sich aus den Diskussionen auch eine diskursive Working Group lumbung Land herausgebildet.

Land, Boden, kollektives Regieren, die Erinnerung an verlorenes oder wiedergewonnenes Land und (urbanes) Gärtnern sind gemeinsame Themen vieler künstlerischer Arbeiten, die auf der documenta fifteen gezeigt werden. Diese Projekte erörtern, wie das kulturelle Schaffen helfen kann, die Beziehung zu Land neu zu denken: Wie können solche Experimente dazu beitragen, neue Utopien zu entwickeln, die die Vorstellungen der Moderne dekonstruieren? Könnten Indigene Poesie, Bilder und Lieder der Schlüssel zu einer Vision von Land sein, die nicht extraktivistisch ist und die auf der Eigenständigkeit der auf diesem Land lebenden Menschen und Nicht-Menschen aufbaut?

Nach der documenta fifteen

Die Working Group lumbung Land setzt ihre Arbeit auch nach dem Ende der Ausstellungslaufzeit der documenta fifteen fort. Ihre Mitglieder treffen sich im November 2022 während einer von MADEYOULOOK organisierten Veranstaltung in Südafrika, um die Lernerfahrungen der documenta fifteen auszuwerten und die weitere Zusammenarbeit zu planen. lumbung member Jatiwangi art Factory führt im September 2022 in Zentraljava Aktivitäten im Rahmen der New Rural Agenda durch, während INLAND auf seinem eigenen Grundstück in Nordspanien bei der Ernte ist

Einige Beispiele für künstlerische Projekte zum Thema Land auf der documenta fifteen sind:

documenta fifteen: MADEYOULOOK, Mafolofolo, 2022, Installationsansicht, Hotel Hessenland, Kassel, 15. Juni 2022, Foto: Frank Sperling

Die Arbeit der lumbung-Künstler*innen MADEYOULOOK für die documenta fifteen ist das Ergebnis einer mehrjährigen Recherche zu den gegenwärtig drängenden Themen im Zusammenhang mit Land in Südafrika und anderswo. Das Kollektiv verfolgt zwei Ziele mit seinem Beitrag: Erstens will MADEYOULOOK die Arbeit seiner Gemeinschaft von Züchter*innen, Landwirt*innen und Landbewirtschafter*innen aus der ganzen Welt mit dem ekosistem in Kassel durch eine Reihe von diskursiven Veranstaltungen verknüpfen: Filmvorführungen, Hörveranstaltungen und Diskussionen im kleinen Rahmen, die als Gartengespräche bezeichnet werden. Zweitens thematisiert das Kollektiv in einer 8-Kanal-Soundarbeit und einer Bodeninstallation im Hotel Hessenland Fragen der spirituellen Geborgenheit und Heilung in Bezug auf das Land sowie die tiefen und dauerhaften geografischen Bezüge, die trotz der longue durée der turbulenten und destabilisierenden Existenz Südafrikas bestehen.

documenta fifteen: INLAND, 2018, Foto: Marta Goro

Für INLAND ist die Beziehung zum Land weder spekulativ noch konzeptionell. Sie beinhaltet, dass die Vorfahren und alle anderen Wesen geehrt werden. Durch Anbau und Pflege versucht das Kollektiv, produktive Projekte zu entwickeln, die Ernährungssouveränität im Zusammenschluss mit globalen Indigenen und bäuerlichen Bewegungen ermöglichen.

Für die Working Group schlägt lumbung member INLAND verschiedene Aktionen vor: Von der Beratung einer Reihe künftiger landbasierter Kunstprojekte in verschiedenen Teilen der Welt, von Palästina bis Nordschweden über die Intervention in einem Waldstück, das derzeit eine Eukalyptus-Monokultur ist und die Gestaltung seines Übergangs zu einem biodiversen, agro-silvo-pastoralistischen Ökosystem als Teil der Shepherds School (im Jahr 2004 begonnen) bis hin zum Wiederaufbau eines verlassenen Dorfes in Spanien mit dem Ziel, als Lernerfahrung und Raum für andere lumbung member zu dienen. Eine Podcast-Reihe und eine Publikation sind ebenfalls in Arbeit.

Eine Wiese mit Olivenbäumen und einer Mauer auf der rechten Seite

Marwa Arsanios, Still aus Who is Afraid of Ideology? Part 4, 28′, 2021, Courtesy Marwa Arsanios

In ihrer fortlaufenden Filmreihe Who is Afraid of Ideology (seit 2017), die während der documenta fifteen gezeigt wird, setzt sich die lumbung-Künstlerin Marwa Arsanios mit der Geschichte des Eigentums im osmanischen Gebiet aus rechtlicher, wirtschaftlicher und politischer Sicht auseinander. Im Forschungsprozess, an dem eine Juristin, ein Historiker, eine Philosophin, Landwirt*innen und eine Wissenschaftlerin beteiligt sind, wird über die Möglichkeit der Ent-privatisierung eines Grundstücks nachgedacht. Der philosophische Ansatz des Materialismus und des Neuen Materialismus in Bezug auf Land sowie die historische Perspektive helfen die juristische Argumentation für eine Ent-privatisierung zu untermauern. Mit ihrem Film zielt Arsanios darauf ab, eine Art Handbuch zu erstellen, das später juristisch verwertbar sein könnte. Durch diesen Prozess versucht die Künstlerin zusammen mit den Mitwirkenden des Films ein Modell für die Beziehung zu Land zu entwickeln, das über den Besitz hinausgeht und auf einen Zeitpunkt vor der kolonialen Institutionalisierung von Privateigentum verweist.

lumbung member Jatiwangi art Factory untersucht, inwieweit es möglich ist, das Ländliche als ein Konzept neu zu definieren und zum Ausgangspunkt für die Diskussion über eine gemeinsame Zukunft zu machen. Mit diesem Leitgedanken entwickelte das Kollektiv die New Rural Agenda – ein transnationales Gipfeltreffen von Netzwerken ländlicher Gemeinschaften.

Dem Gipfeltreffen ging die New Rural School voraus, eine Veranstaltungsreihe zum Wissens- und Erfahrungsaustausch in Form von Konferenzen, Amateur*innenfunkgesprächen, urun-Postern und dem Bulletin Rural School. Es unterstreicht die vielfältigen Perspektiven von den Rändern und Peripherien und hinterfragt gleichförmige Vorstellungen von Fortschritt und Nachhaltigkeit.

documenta fifteen: New Rural Agenda Summit, Jatiwangi art Factory, 2022, Friedrichsplatz, Kassel, 21. Juni 2022, Foto: Martha Friedel

Das Gipfeltreffen der New Rural Agenda fand am 21. Juni 2022 während der documenta fifteen in Kassel statt, wo die Stakeholder zusammenkamen und Piagam Martabat Penghuni Bumi – die Charta der Würde der Erdbewohner*innen – erarbeiteten. Perhutana (die indonesische Abkürzung für Perusahaan Hutan Tanaraya, was Tanaraya Forstbetrieb bedeutet) ist Teil der New Rural Agenda. Ziel des Projekts ist die Rückgewinnung von Land, um einen heiligen Wald zu schaffen. Alle, die Interesse haben, können ein Grundstück von 4 m x 4 m kaufen, das Teil des Waldes sein wird. Im Gegenzug erhalten die Teilnehmenden Zertifikate, die aus Erdziegeln bestehen. Außerdem erhalten die Käufer*innen ein NFT-Zertifikat, das sie in Geld umtauschen können. Nachdem jedes Teilstück verkauft und bepflanzt ist, registriert das Forstministerium Perhutana als einheimischen Wald für die Bewohner*innen der Region.

Newsletter