Working Group

lumbung Currency

lumbung Currency looks to strengthen and connect the various community currencies that are being built by four of the lumbung members, such as the BeeCoin (ZK/U – Center for Art and Urbanistics), the Cheesecoin (INLAND), the Dayra (The Question of Funding), and the Jalar (Gudskul).

A sketch with drawings and notes about cryptocurrency, such as a drawn coin that says "lumbung coin".

documenta fifteen: lumbung Coin, harvest by Abdul Dube, 2021

Community currencies could enable the lumbung to develop its own economic exchange system where value is decided upon by the community, and exchange happens from direct needs and values. Several learning sessions were organized in the years leading up to documenta fifteen, amongst others with Grassroots Economics, that have already successfully developed community currencies in Kenya as well as with Paul Seidler and Steph Holl-Trieu that have co-developed the Digital Autonomous Organisation (DAO) for the BeeCoin by lumbung member ZK/U – Center for Art and Urbanistics.

The learning sessions led into the existing currency plans of the lumbung members as described below. The processes of development of the currencies is partly on view in the exhibition in Kassel.

A photo showing the Ottoneum in the background, in front of it a green meadow on which a bar with a flat roof and floor was built from wooden boards.

documenta fifteen, INLAND, Cheese Pavillon, Kassel, 2022, Photo: Nicolas Wefers

After documenta fifteen, when the individual currencies have come to fuller life, the lumbung intends to work on ways of connecting the currencies to each other to enable value exchange between local communities outside of often inflexible and bureaucratic mainstream banking and accountability systems.

The common currencies

ZK/U – Center for Art and Urbanistics, Beecoin, lumbung Currency, 2021, Photo: Tomaschko

BeeDAO is an organization of human and nonhuman agents that allows for interspecies democracy, wealth sharing, and knowledge creation. The aim of the organization is to secure and improve the well-being of bees worldwide. Based on web3 technologies and sensor kits that monitor the key life indicators of more than 15 beehives in Kassel, the organization makes decisions in regular assembly meetings.

Operating as a Distributed Autonomous Organization (DAO), BeeDAO is a prototypical experiment, demonstrating the potential for human and nonhuman agents to work towards common goals. Bees and humans can join BeeDAO and become beeholders by donating their data (proof-of-life) or by obtaining an NFT membership. They can nominate delegates to represent their interests or submit proposals that improve bee life as well as help to shape the organization, its charta, its rituals, and the interspecies sharing of wealth. The assembly meetings, regularly held during documenta fifteen at ruruHaus, are open to the public.

Here you can access the calendar via the menu.

A photo of a display of food, including a round cheese with a piece already cut out.

documenta fifteen, INLAND, Kassel, 2022, Photo: Nicolas Wefers

The Cheesecoin was invented as a fictional currency to fund a campaign against a Reality TV company that appropriated the name of INLAND’s project and invaded their area in 2017. It was initiated in collaboration with artist Hito Steyerl.

The currency follows the cheese standard of INLAND, meaning that the collective issues a certain number of Cheesecoins based on the annual amount of cheese produced. In the first stage, the Cheesecoin models an experimental economy, which is in transition from a purely speculative one to a real one. The Cheesecoin is part of a nonlinear economy which mimics neighborhood economies, which run in parallel to capitalist market economies. It sits on top of a conventional market economy for products produced by the collective, such as cheese, intimately related to them, but also refers to traditional gift economies.

The Question of Funding, Dayra, lumbung Currency, 2022

The economic model Dayra by lumbung member The Question of Funding uses blockchain technology for circulating communal economic value. The model is based on the premise that individuals, as well as local businesses and organizations that lack financial resources, nevertheless have resources (material, physical, or intellectual) and knowledge.

The currency thus enables the creation of value for the common good through the exchange and use of these non-monetary resources. This explains the name Dayra, which means “circle” and “circling” in Arabic. In this way, Dayra not only bypasses often restrictive traditional funding models, but ensures a resilient supplementary economy that crisis-affected communities can draw upon. This video explains how the Dayra currency works with an example.

Members of the platform Temujalar.art earn and collect digital points called Jalar for their Jalar Collective Wallet. They generate Jalar by contributing with resources or activities to the platform. They can spend them to join workshops and virtual events, or to build a collective space. The Jalar Collective Wallet resembles the common pot of documenta fifteen, mutually governed by collectives.

Temujalar.art was initiated by Gudskul in 2020, at the beginning of the Covid-19 pandemic, as an online platform for collectives and their art ekosistems. It is based on the belief that online platforms enable knowledge exchange across geographical borders and timezones. In Indonesian, Temu means “to meet”, and Jalar means “to spread”. Temujalar.art is dedicated to artists, collectives, curators, writers, musicians, researchers, teachers, creative people, and the art ekosistem in general. The platform wants to help them to learn, collect experiences, and share knowledge.

By experimenting with these sustainable economic models, the working group lumbung Currency is part of a practice that is intended to continue and be effective beyond the 100 days of documenta fifteen.

Newsletter

Working Group

lumbung Currency

Die Working Group lumbung Currency zielt auf die Stärkung und Verbindung der Gemeinschaftswährungen, welche vier der lumbung member entwickelt haben: BeeCoin von lumbung member ZK/U – Zentrum für Kunst und Urbanistik, Cheesecoin von INLAND, Dayra von The Question of Funding und Jalar von Gudskul.

Eine Skizze mit Zeichnungen und Notizen zum Thema Kryptowährung, wie Beispielsweise eine gezeichnete Münze auf der "lumbung coin" steht.

documenta fifteen: lumbung Coin, Harvest von Abdul Dube, 2021

Diese Währungen ermöglichen die Entwicklung eigener Tauschsysteme. Dabei entscheidet die Gemeinschaft über den Wert der Waren. Der Tausch derselbigen basiert auf konkreten Bedürfnissen statt auf abstrakten Werten. In den Jahren vor der documenta fifteen wurden dazu mehrere Workshops mit Akteur*innen organisiert, die bereits erfolgreich Gemeinschaftswährungen entwickelt haben, etwa Grassroots Economics in Kenia sowie mit Paul Seidler und Steph Holl-Trieu, die die Digitale Autonome Organisation (DAO) für den BeeCoin der lumbung member (ZK/U – Zentrum für Kunst und Urbanistik) mitentwickelt haben.

Aus diesen Arbeitstreffen gingen die nun existierenden Währungen der lumbung member hervor, deren Entwicklungsprozesse teilweise in der Ausstellung nachvollzogen werden können.

Ein Foto welches das Ottoneum im Hintergrund zeigt, davor grüne Wiese auf die aus Holzbrettern eine Bar mit Flachdach und Boden gebaut wurde

documenta fifteen, INLAND, Cheese Pavillon, Kassel, 2022, Foto: Nicolas Wefers

Nach dem Ende der Ausstellungslaufzeit der documenta fifteen sollen die zu diesem Zeitpunkt hoffentlich bereits stärker florierenden Währungen miteinander zusammengeführt werden. So wird ein Tauschsystem zwischen lokalen Communities außerhalb der Bürokratie bestehender Bankensysteme ermöglicht.

Die Gemeinschafts­währungen

ZK/U – Zentrum für Kunst und Urbanistik, Beecoin, lumbung Currency, 2021, Foto: Tomaschko

BeeDAO ist eine Organisation menschlicher und nichtmenschlicher Akteur*innen, die speziesübergreifende Demokratie, das Teilen von Wohlstand und die Produktion von Wissen ermöglicht – mit dem Ziel, das Wohlergehen von Bienen auf der ganzen Welt zu sichern und zu verbessern. Auf Grundlage von Web3-Technologien und Sensoren, die überlebensrelevante Daten von mehr als 15 Bienenstöcken in Kassel aufzeichnen, trifft die Organisation bei regelmäßigen Treffen gemeinsame Entscheidungen.

Als dezentralisierte autonome Organisation (DAO) zeigt BeeDAO prototypisch das Potential einer auf gemeinsame Ziele ausgerichteten Zusammenarbeit menschlicher und nicht-menschlicher Akteur*innen. Bienen und Menschen können BeeDAO beitreten, indem sie Daten zur Verfügung stellen oder eine Mitgliedschaft in Form eines NFT erwerben. Sie können dann Delegierte nominieren, die ihre Interessen vertreten, Vorschläge zur Verbesserung von Bienenleben einbringen und bei der Weiterentwicklung der Organisation, ihrer Charta, ihrer Rituale und dem speziesübergreifenden Teilen von Wohlstand mitwirken.

Gemeinsame öffentliche Treffen finden während der documenta fifteen regelmäßig im ruruHaus statt. Hier gelangen Sie über das Menü zum Kalender.

Ein Foto von einer Auslage mit Lebensmitteln, unteranderem ein runder Käse bei dem bereits ein Stück herausgeschnitten wurde.

documenta fifteen, INLAND, Kassel, 2022, Foto: Nicolas Wefers

Die Cheesecoin wurde ursprünglich als fiktive Währung zur Finanzierung einer Kampagne gegen eine Fernsehproduktionsfirma ins Leben gerufen. Diese kopierte den Namen eines Projekts des lumbung member INLAND für eine Reality-TV-Sendung und drang 2017 in die Räume des Kollektivs ein. Die Währung wurde daraufhin gemeinsam mit der Künstlerin Hito Steyerl entwickelt.

Basierend auf der jährlichen Menge selbst produzierten Käses gibt INLAND eine bestimmte Anzahl von Cheesecoins heraus. Daraus entsteht zunächst eine experimentelle Ökonomie, die sich im Übergang von einer rein spekulativen zu einer realen Wirtschaft befindet. Die Cheesecoin ist damit Teil einer nonlinearen Wirtschaft, die parallel zur kapitalistischen Marktwirtschaft laufenden Nachbarschaftsökonomien nachempfunden ist. Sie ist eng mit einer konventionellen Marktwirtschaft für kollektiv produzierte Waren wie Käse verbunden, nimmt aber auch Anleihen an der Organisationsweise traditioneller Schenkökonomien.

The Question of Funding, Dayra, lumbung Currency, 2022

Das von lumbung member The Question of Funding entwickelte Wirtschaftsmodell Dayra nutzt Blockchain-Technologie für die Zirkulation gemeinsamen wirtschaftlichen Werts. Das Modell geht von der Prämisse aus, dass Einzelpersonen, aber auch lokale Betriebe und Organisationen, die keine finanziellen Mittel haben, trotzdem über Ressourcen (materiell, physisch oder geistig) sowie über Wissen verfügen.

Die Währung ermöglicht somit die Schaffung von Wert für das Gemeinwohl durch den Tausch und die Nutzung dieser non-monetären Ressourcen. Daraus erklärt sich auch der Name Dayra, der auf Arabisch so viel wie „Kreis” oder „Kreislauf” bedeutet. Auf diese Weise umgeht Dayra nicht nur oft restriktive traditionelle Fördermodelle, sondern garantiert eine widerstandsfähige zusätzliche Ökonomie, auf die von Krisen betroffene Gemeinschaften zurückgreifen können.

Dieses Video erklärt die Funktionsweise der Währung Dayra anhand eines Beispiels.

Die Mitglieder der Plattform Temujalar.art verdienen und sammeln digitale Punkte, die Jalar genannt werden, für ihre kollektive Jalar-Geldbörse. Sie generieren Jalar, indem sie mit Ressourcen oder Aktivitäten zur Plattform beitragen. Die Mitglieder können diese digitalen Währungspunkte ausgeben, um an Workshops und virtuellen Veranstaltungen teilzunehmen oder um einen kollektiven Raum zu schaffen. Ähnlich wie beim lumbung Pot (finanzielles Modell im Rahmen der Praxis von lumbung während der documenta fifteen) handelt es sich auch beim Jalar Collective Wallet um einen von Kollektiven verwalteten gemeinsamen Topf.

Als die Covid-19-Pandemie Anfang 2020 begann, gründete Gudskul Temujalar.art als Online-Plattform für Kollektive und ihre Ekosisteme. Sie basiert auf der Annahme, dass Online-Plattformen den Austausch von Wissen über Zeitzonen und geografischen Grenzen hinaus ermöglichen. Auf Indonesisch bedeutet Temu „treffen” und Jalar „ausbreiten”. Temujalar.art richtet sich an Künstler*innen, Kollektive, Kurator*innen, Autor*innen, Musiker*innen, Forschende, Lehrende und Kreative. Ihnen will die Plattform beim Lernen, dem Sammeln von Erfahrungen und dem Austausch von Wissen helfen.

Indem die Working Group lumbung Currency mit diesen nachhaltigen Wirtschaftsmodellen experimentiert, ist sie Teil einer Praxis, die über die 100 Tage der documenta fifteen hinaus weiter bestehen und wirksam sein soll.

Newsletter