Network

lumbung of Publishers

Within the cultural sphere, independent publishers and publishing collectives are particularly dependent on solidarity and the sharing of resources to survive. During documenta fifteen, lumbung of Publishers offers independent publishers the possibility to get to know each other and to share knowledge. The goal is to create a network that exists beyond the 100-day duration of documenta fifteen.

For lumbung of Publishers, ruangrupa and the Artistic Team invite 20 independent publishers to Kassel.

documenta fifteen: lumbung of Publishers, Harvest by Daniela and Camila from HAMBRE, 2022

Among the invited publishers are the publishing collective consonni from Bilbao, the graphic experimentation workshop La Impresora from Puerto Rico, Ljubljana-based Stripburger, Rotopol from Kassel, and many more.

Two stakeholders from each publishing house travel to Kassel to first participate in a two-day internal workshop. During the first Meydan weekend, from Friday, July 8 until Sunday, July 10, 2022, the publishers design a three-day public program, with presentations, workshops, and lectures. lumbung of Publishers offers visitors of documenta fifteen the possibility to get to know the independent publishers and their programs from different countries and to gain an insight into their survival strategies.

The participating publishers and collectives showcase their publications and produce new ones on the spot. This happens in collaboration with lumbung Press, which is a collective project of lumbung members and lumbung artists for flexible and process-oriented production of print products on site in Kassel.

lumbung of Publishers collaborators are currently:

  • Abdul Halik Azeez
  • Alice Yard (lumbung artist)
  • Bananafish Books
  • BOLOHO (lumbung artists)
  • consonni
  • Cooperativa Cráter Invertido
  • David Kaiza
  • Erick Beltrán (lumbung artist)
  • HAMBRE
  • Jalada
  • Kayfa-ta
  • kuš!
  • Kutikuti
  • La Impresora
  • Marjin Kiri
  • microutopías press
  • N’fana Diakite
  • Nieves
  • Relampago
  • Rotopol Press
  • Strapazin
  • Stripburger

documenta fifteen: lumbung of Publishers, screenshot during a meeting, 2022

Newsletter

Netzwerk

lumbung of Publishers

Innerhalb des kulturellen Raums sind unabhängige Verlage und Verlagskollektive besonders stark auf Solidarität und das Teilen von Ressourcen und angewiesen. lumbung of Publishers bietet diesen Akteur*innen während der documenta fifteen die Möglichkeit, sich auszutauschen und Wissen zu teilen. Das Ziel ist die Bildung eines Netzwerks, das über die 100-tägige Laufzeit der documenta fifteen hinaus existiert.

Zu lumbung of Publishers laden ruangrupa und das Künstlerische Team 20 unabhängige Verlage nach Kassel ein.

documenta fifteen: lumbung of Publishers, Harvest von Daniela and Camila von HAMBRE, 2022

Unter den eingeladenen Verlagen befinden sich das Verlagskollektiv consonni aus Bilbao, die grafische Experimentierwerkstatt La Impresora aus Puerto Rico, Stripburger aus Ljubljana, Rotopol aus Kassel und viele weitere.

Zwei Akteur*innen pro Verlag reisen nach Kassel, um zunächst an einem zweitägigen internen Workshop teilzunehmen. Während des ersten Meydan-Wochenendes vom Freitag, 8. Juli bis Sonntag, 10. Juli, 2022 gestalten die Verlage ein dreitägiges öffentliches Programm, zu dem Präsentationen, Workshops und Lesungen gehören. lumbung of Publishers bietet den Besucher*innen der documenta fifteen die Gelegenheit, diese unabhängigen Verlage aus verschiedenen Ländern kennenzulernen und einen Einblick in ihre Bücher und Überlebensstrategien zu bekommen.

Die teilnehmenden Verlage und Kollektive stellen ihre Publikationen vor und produzieren neue vor Ort. Dies geschieht in Zusammenarbeit mit lumbung Press, einem Gemeinschaftsprojekt der lumbung member und lumbung-Künstler*innen zur flexiblen und prozessorientierten Produktion ihrer Druckerzeugnisse in Kassel.

Mitwirkende von lumbung of Publishers sind derzeit:

  • Abdul Halik Azeez
  • Alice Yard (lumbung-Künstler*innen)
  • Bananafish Books
  • BOLOHO (lumbung-Künstler*innen)
  • consonni
  • Cooperativa Cráter Invertido
  • David Kaiza
  • Erick Beltrán (lumbung-Künstler)
  • HAMBRE
  • Jalada
  • Kayfa-ta
  • kuš!
  • Kutikuti
  • La Impresora
  • Marjin Kiri
  • microutopías press
  • N’fana Diakite
  • Nieves
  • Relampago
  • Rotopol Press
  • Strapazin
  • Stripburger

documenta fifteen: lumbung of Publishers, Screenshot während eines Meetings, 2022

 

Newsletter