Working Group

lumbung.space

lumbung.space is an online platform by and for the lumbung members and the lumbung artists. Many of the artists and collectives invited to documenta fifteen are located far away from each other with their own realities and vulnerabilities. Also due to the Covid-19 regulations, it was and is difficult to meet in person. lumbung.space was created as a social and publishing tool.

Like a vibrant archive and a digital living room, it allows connection, support, and the sharing of knowledge.

documenta fifteen: lumbung.space, Drawing by Reza Afisina and Marishka Soekarna, 2022

The aim of lumbung.space is to create a digital infrastructure that is maintained by the lumbung network without being dependent upon exploitative digital infrastructures. The pandemic and the ensuing digitization of many aspects of creative practice, offered an extra reason to focus on networked media practices. lumbung.space, therefore, is an urgent experiment that tries out what an artist-run digital space could be like.

As a method of collective writing and a means of staying informed, harvesting is one of the most important parts of the lumbung building process. lumbung.space is a way for sharing this collective process.

The platform lumbung.space consists of several tools for publishing and sharing knowledge.

The infrastructure allows private, semi-public, and public communication: lumbung tv, lumbung social, nongkrong.lumbung.space, lumbung pen, panduan.lumbung.space, books.lumbung.space, cloud.lumbung, and lumbung shouts.

lumbung tv enables the sharing or the streaming of videos. lumbung social is an internal social network where lumbung members and artists can hang out and share aspects of their everyday lives or work with one another, but also publish parts of it to a wider audience. nongkrong.lumbung.space is a way to connect through a chat room that can also be used for online meetings. lumbung pen is designed for the publication of longer texts, while panduan.lumbung.space is a shared notebook for writing, discussing, and editing documents collectively. There is also a digital library to read and exchange literature by and for the network called books.lumbung.space. Finally, cloud.lumbung.space is a shared file storage.

Additionally, it is possible to publish content to the shared front page of lumbung.space. This shared front page also collects updates from the own websites of the lumbung members and artists, known as lumbung shouts.

Visual design for lumbung.space by Studio 4oo2

After documenta fifteen, lumbung.space persists as a living room where members of the network can continue to connect, support, and learn from each other.

lumbung.space was conceptualized and developed together with Roel Roscam Abbing, an artist and doctoral candidate in Interaction Design at Malmö University and with the Autonomic technology cooperative. Their work for lumbung.space is part of the Co-op Cloud initiative, which allows other collectives to set up similar infrastructures.

Newsletter

Working Group

lumbung.space

lumbung.space ist eine Online-Plattform von den und für die lumbung member und lumbung-Künstler*innen. Viele der zur documenta fifteen eingeladenen Künstler*innen und Kollektive wohnen weit voneinander entfernt, sowohl geografisch als auch in Bezug auf ihre jeweiligen Lebenswelten und Bedürfnisse. Die Reisebeschränkungen in Zusammenhang mit der Covid-19-Pandemie haben persönliche Treffen bisher erschwert und tun dies auch weiterhin. Daher entstand mit lumbung.space ein soziales Netzwerk und Publikationstool.

Als lebendiges Archiv und digitales Wohnzimmer bietet die Plattform die Möglichkeit zum Vernetzen, Unterstützen und Teilen von Wissen.

documenta fifteen: lumbung.space, Zeichnung von Reza Afisina und Marishka Soekarna, 2022

Das Ziel von lumbung.space ist es, eine digitale Infrastruktur zu schaffen, die das lumbung-Netzwerk selbst betreibt, ohne von extraktiven kommerziellen Angeboten abhängig zu sein. Die Digitalisierung zahlreicher Aspekte kreativer Praxis im Zuge der Pandemie gab Anlass, netzwerkbasierte Medienpraktiken zu entwickeln. lumbung.space ist daher ein hochaktuelles Experiment, das erprobt, wie ein von Künstler*innen betriebener digitaler Raum aussehen könnte.

Als Verfahren kollektiven Schreibens und Methode, auf dem Laufenden zu bleiben, stellt harvesting eines der wichtigsten Elemente des lumbung-Prozesses dar. lumbung.space ermöglicht die Teilhabe an diesem kollektiven Prozess.

Die Plattform lumbung.space besteht aus mehreren Tools zur Veröffentlichung von Inhalten und zum Teilen von Wissen.

Die Infrastruktur erlaubt private, halb-öffentliche und öffentliche Kommunikation über die Kanäle lumbung tv, lumbung social, nongkrong.lumbung.space, lumbung pen, panduan.lumbung.space, books.lumbung.space, cloud.lumbung und lumbung shouts.

lumbung tv ermöglicht das Teilen und Streamen von Videos. lumbung social ist ein internes soziales Netzwerk. Hier können sich die lumbung member und lumbung-Künstler*innen austauschen oder Einblicke in ihr Privatleben und ihre Arbeit geben – einander, aber auch einem breiteren Publikum. nongkrong.lumbung.space bietet einen Chat-Room, der auch für Online-Meetings zur Verfügung steht. Während lumbung pen der Veröffentlichung längerer Texte dient, ist panduan.lumbung.space ein Notizbuch, in dem Dokumente gemeinsam erstellt, besprochen und bearbeitet werden können. In der digitalen Bibliothek books.lumbung.space können die Mitglieder des Netzwerks Literatur lesen und austauschen. Zuletzt eröffnet cloud.lumbung.space die Möglichkeit, Daten in einer gemeinsamen Cloud zu speichern.

Visuelle Gestaltung für lumbung.space von Studio 4oo2

Auch auf der Startseite von lumbung.space können Inhalte publiziert werden. Die Funktion lumbung shouts bündelt dabei Updates der eigenen Webseiten der lumbung member und lumbung-Künstler*innen.

Im Anschluss an die documenta fifteen besteht lumbung.space als Wohnzimmer fort, in dem Mitglieder des Netzwerks sich weiterhin vernetzen, unterstützen und voneinander lernen können.

lumbung.space wurde gemeinsam mit Roel Roscam Abbing, Künstler und Doktorand im Fach Interaktionsdesign an der Universität Malmö, und der Technologie-Kooperative Autonomic konzipiert und entwickelt. Ihre Arbeit für lumbung.space ist Teil der Initiative Co-op Cloud, die es anderen Kollektiven ermöglicht, ähnliche Infrastrukturen aufzubauen.

Das lumbung-Netzwerk wird unterstützt von:

Newsletter