KIRI Project /
one hundred trees

The KIRI Project / one hundred trees is one of documenta fifteen’s partner projects and involves a cooperation with BDA Gruppe Kassel (Association of German Architects).

At documenta fifteen, 100 Kiri tree saplings are given away to visitors.
Nine people with shovels in their hands symbolically stand in front of a freshly planted tree.

Planting of the first Kiri tree in front of Hallenbad Ost, April 1, 2022, f.l.t.r. Marc Köhler, Chairman of BDA Gruppe Kassel, Sabine Schormann, Director General of documenta und Museum Fridericianum gGmbH, Volker Lange, Umwelt- und Gartenamt Kassel, John Kosmalla, BDA, Reza Afisina, ruangrupa, Thomas Meyer and José Vilches Maraboli, BDA, Iswanto Hartono, ruangrupa, Jaad Saranek, 2022, Photo: Christian Benesch, KM Architekten

The Kiri or paulownia tree is considered the fastest growing tree in the world. Under favorable conditions it is able to grow over five meters in one year and thus produce as much wood by volume as an oak. In so doing the Kiri tree absorbs a particularly high level of carbon dioxide.

The project aims to use CO2-saving building materials, combat climate-related overheating of cities, and ultimately strengthen the attention for the eastern part of Kassel.

Overall, the project is one in three parts: a catwalk, a pavilion, and the 100 trees. The catwalk is a walkway made of Kiri wood leading from Wilhelmshöher Allee to Hallenbad Ost – symbolizing the desire for better transport links to eastern parts of the city of Kassel and the stronger focus on Kassel’s eastern districts as a result of documenta fifteen. Furthermore, in front of Hallenbad Ost a pavilion made of Kiri wood serves as a Reflecting Point. The Reflecting Points invite passers-by to rest and leisure. A total of five Reflecting Points are planned to be spread across the Kassel cityscape. The architects and planners John Kosmalla, Thomas Meyer, Marc Köhler, and José Vilches Maraboli from BDA Gruppe Kassel are responsible for designing the first Reflecting Point at Hallenbad Ost.

For documenta fifteen, the BDA gives away 100 saplings of the blue flowering Kiri tree to visitors. Applications with details of the potential location can be sent by e-mail to: office@km-architekten.de.

The aim is for the urban greening initiative to continue to grow beyond Kassel—and to be spread throughout the world by documenta fifteen visitors.

WeGrow, a company specializing in Kiri trees, is providing the saplings.

Newsletter

KIRI Project /
one hundred trees

Das KIRI Project / one hundred trees (KIRI Projekt / einhundert Bäume) ist eines der Partnerprojekte der documenta fifteen. Es entsteht in Kooperation mit der BDA Gruppe Kassel (Bund Deutscher Architektinnen und Architekten).

Zur documenta fifteen werden 100 Sprösslinge der Kiri-Bäume an Besucher*innen verschenkt.
Neun Menschen mit Schaufeln in der Hand stehen symbolisch vor einem frisch gepflanzten Baum.

Pflanzung des ersten Kiri-Baums vor dem Hallenbad Ost, 1. April, 2022, v.l.n.r. Marc Köhler, Vorsitzender BDA Gruppe Kassel, Sabine Schormann, Generaldirektorin der documenta und Museum Fridericianum gGmbH, Volker Lange, Umwelt- und Gartenamt Kassel, John Kosmalla, BDA, Reza Afisina, ruangrupa, Thomas Meyer und José Vilches Maraboli, BDA, Iswanto Hartono, ruangrupa, Jaad Saranek, 2022, Foto: Christian Benesch, KM Architekten

Der Kiri- oder Blauglockenbaum gilt als am schnellsten wachsender Baum der Welt. Bei guten Bedingungen vermag er in einem Jahr über fünf Meter zu wachsen und damit in einem Zehntel der Zeit so viel Holzvolumen zu produzieren wie eine Eiche. Damit bindet der Kiri-Baum besonders viel Kohlenstoffdioxid.

Bei dem Vorhaben geht es um den Einsatz von CO2-sparenden Baustoffen sowie um die Bekämpfung der klimabedingten Überhitzung von Städten und schließlich auch um das Stärken der Aufmerksamkeit für den Kasseler Osten.

Das Gesamtprojekt besteht aus drei Teilen: einem Catwalk, einem Pavillon und den 100 Bäumen. Der Catwalk ist ein Steg aus Kiri-Holz, der von der Wilhelmshöher Allee bis zum Hallenbad Ost führt und symbolisch für den Wunsch nach engerer Anbindung der östlichen Kasseler Stadtteile und die durch die documenta fifteen angestoßene stärkere Fokussierung des Kasseler Ostens steht. Vor dem Hallenbad Ost entsteht außerdem ein Pavillon als Reflecting Point aus dem Kiri-Holz. Die Reflecting Points laden Passant*innen zum Rasten und zu Muße ein. Geplant sind insgesamt fünf Reflecting Points, verteilt über den Kasseler Stadtraum. Die Architekten und Planer John Kosmalla, Thomas Meyer, Marc Köhler und José Vilches Maraboli der BDA Gruppe Kassel sind zuständig für den Entwurf des ersten Reflecting Points am Hallenbad Ost.

Zur documenta fifteen verschenkt der BDA 100 Sprösslinge des blau blühenden Kiri-Baums an Besucher*innen. Bewerbungen mit Angabe des potentiellen Standorts können Sie per E-Mail versenden an: office@km-architekten.de.

Ziel ist, die Initiative zur Stadtbegrünung auch über Kassel hinaus weiter wachsen – und durch die Besucher*innen der documenta fifteen in die Welt tragen zu lassen.

Das auf den Kiri-Baum spezialisierte Unternehmen WeGrow stellt die Sprösslinge zur Verfügung.

Newsletter