Vertical Farm in Waldau, Kassel

osVVertical

Sustainable practices are pivotal to all areas of exhibition planning and artistic practice in the context of documenta fifteen. The topic of sustainability and the concepts of its practical implementation also play a central role in the education of young people.

The osVVertical project at and with the school Offene Schule Waldau in Kassel demonstrates a practical approach to becoming more climate-friendly: using the example of a vertical farm.

documenta fifteen sustainability project: osVVertical, Kassel, Photo: Nicolas Wefers

Here, students learn about the sustainable cultivation of vegetables. osVVertical is a cooperation between Offene Schule Waldau, GWGpro, Smart Kassel, and the office MOST gartenlandschaften with documenta fifteen.

The students grow the vegetables themselves and, in accordance with the lumbung practice, not only share their harvest, but also exchange their knowledge with each other as well as with the public. What is special here is that the cultivation beds in a discarded shipping container designed by students together with lumbung member Wajukuu Art Project are not laid out flat on the ground as usual, but vertically using the latest agricultural technology from Sweden. This approach is particularly efficient and sustainable and a good example of circular economy.

documenta fifteen sustainability project: osVVertical, Kassel, Photo: Nicolas Wefers

The vertical farm produces as much fruit and vegetables on 30 m2 as on arable land of 6,000 m2. The students harvest each crop seven weeks after sowing throughout the year. The container protects the produce from external influences such as temperature and humidity fluctuations. Afterwards, the cooks use the fresh fruit and vegetables in the school kitchen. This eliminates the need for transportation. Since the air in the container is filtered, the harvested produce can be eaten unwashed. In addition to saving labor, this also saves water.

Given the exceptional productivity of the vertical farm, most of the produce has to be sold to third parties, even though the school feeds nearly 900 students daily. Since most of the plants are harvested with roots, they can be kept in cold storage for up to two weeks.

Healthy eating is already a central part of the concept of Offene Schule Waldau. All food is organically grown. This is made possible by the Mensaverein, which also supports the osVVertical project. GWG Projektentwicklung GmbH (GWGpro) is a subsidiary of the Gemeinnützige Wohnungsbaugesellschaft der Stadt Kassel mbH (GWG) and is responsible for the implementation of municipal building projects. It is currently developing the new building for Offene Schule Waldau on behalf of the City of Kassel, focusing here on the highest sustainability standards. The office MOST gartenlandschaften plans outdoor facilities on a sustainable basis and is jointly responsible for the design of the vertical farm.

The osVVertical project is one of several long-term sustainability projects designed to combine ecological, economic, artistic, and social factors in line with the documenta fifteen concept. Other projects include the cooperation with HessenForst in the Reinhardswald in Hesse as well as the Sustainable Village Project and the Semah Bumi Festival in Indonesia. One Euro of every documenta fifteen ticket sold will go to these sustainability projects.

Newsletter

Die vertikale Farm in Waldau, Kassel

osVVertical

Nachhaltiges Handeln ist zentral für alle Bereiche der Ausstellungsplanung und die künstlerische Praxis im Rahmen der documenta fifteen. Auch in der Bildung junger Menschen spielen das Thema Nachhaltigkeit und die Konzepte ihrer praktischen Umsetzung eine zentrale Rolle.

Das Projekt osVVertical führt eine Möglichkeit klimaschonend zu handeln in der Praxis vor: am Beispiel einer vertikalen Farm.

documenta fifteen Nachhaltigkeitsprojekt: osVVertical, Kassel, Foto: Nicolas Wefers

Schüler*innen lernen dabei den nachhaltigen Anbau von Gemüse kennen. osVVertical ist eine Kooperation der Offenen Schule Waldau, der GWGpro, Smart Kassel und dem Büro MOST gartenlandschaften mit der documenta fifteen. Die Schüler*innen bauen das Gemüse selbst an und teilen der Praxis von lumbung entsprechend nicht nur ihre Ernte, sondern tauschen auch ihr Wissen untereinander sowie mit der Öffentlichkeit aus. Das Besondere ist, dass die Beete in einem ausrangierten, durch Schüler*innen gemeinsam mit lumbung member Wajukuu Art Project gestalteten See-Container nicht wie üblich flach auf dem Boden, sondern unter Einsatz neuester Landwirtschaftstechnologie aus Schweden vertikal angelegt werden. Dieses Vorgehen ist besonders effizient und nachhaltig und ein gutes Beispiel für Kreislaufwirtschaft.

documenta fifteen Nachhaltigkeitsprojekt: osVVertical, Kassel, Foto: Nicolas Wefers

Die vertikale Farm erzeugt auf 30 m2 so viel Obst und Gemüse wie eine Ackerfläche von 6.000 m2. Die Schüler*innen ernten über das ganze Jahr hinweg jeweils sieben Wochen nach der Aussaat. Der Container schützt die Produkte gegen äußere Einflüsse durch Temperatur- und Feuchtigkeitsschwankungen. Danach verarbeiten die Köch*innen das frische Obst und Gemüse in der Schulküche. Transportwege fallen somit nicht an. Dadurch, dass die Luft im Container gefiltert wird, sind die geernteten Produkte ungewaschen verzehrbar. Außer Arbeit spart das auch Wasser.

Wegen der außerordentlich hohen Produktivität der vertikalen Farm muss der Großteil der Produkte an Dritte veräußert werden, obwohl die Schule täglich nahezu 900 Schüler*innen verpflegt. Da die meisten Pflanzen mit Wurzel geerntet werden, können sie im Kühlhaus bis zu zwei Wochen lagern.

Gesunde Ernährung ist bereits ein zentraler Bestandteil des Konzepts der Offenen Schule Waldau. Alle Nahrungsmittel stammen aus biologischem Anbau. Dies ermöglicht der Mensaverein, welcher auch das Projekt osVVertical trägt. Die GWG Projektentwicklung GmbH (GWGpro) ist als Tochtergesellschaft der Gemeinnützigen Wohnungsbaugesellschaft der Stadt Kassel mbH (GWG) für die Umsetzung von kommunalen Bauvorhaben tätig. Derzeit entwickelt sie im Auftrag der Stadt Kassel den Neubau der Offenen Schule Waldau und setzt dabei auf höchste Nachhaltigkeitsstandards. Das Büro MOST gartenlandschaften plant Anlagen im Freien auf nachhaltiger Basis und ist für den Entwurf der vertikalen Farm mitverantwortlich.

Das Projekt osVVertical ist eines von mehreren langfristig angelegten Nachhaltigkeitsprojekten, das entsprechend der Konzeption der documenta fifteen ökologische, ökonomische, künstlerische und soziale Faktoren vereinen soll. Weitere Projekte sind die Kooperation mit HessenForst im hessischen Reinhardswald sowie das Sustainable Village Project und das Semah Bumi Festival in Indonesien. Ein Euro jedes verkauften documenta fifteen-Tickets kommt diesen Nachhaltigkeitsprojekten zugute.

Newsletter