Fridericianum as a school

Fridskul

During documenta fifteen, the Fridericianum becomes Fridskul (Fridericianum as School), serving as a repository for shared resources, such as knowledge, stories, and experiences. This “harvest” of resources is not only stored in the building but also activated and produced by artists. Here, lumbung as a storage barn becomes tangible, as does an understanding of art that is not separate from daily life.

Gudskul from Indonesia, of which ruangrupa is a founding member, is one of the collectives participating in Fridskul. By invitation of the collective, public workshops, seminars, and open formats of exchange take place in the Fridericianum. The artists live, sleep, eat, cook, and work together in the former exhibition building, where a dormitory and kitchen allow them to relocate their everyday lives to the Fridericianum. Fridskul creates a space for encounters whose shape is determined over time by its use.

On the ground floor of the Fridericianum, RURUKIDS invites babies, children, teenagers, and their parents to learn and discover through play and meet with artists. Together, lumbung artists, Kassel initiatives, and art mediators, called sobat-sobat (Indonesian for friends), create a safe and stimulating environment where children can relax, play, and explore freely.

RURUKIDS is open every day during the opening hours of documenta fifteen. Detailed information on workshop programs and film screenings can be soon found here.

 

A cross section of a drawn multi-storey house in black and white.

Fridskul, Drawing by Daniella Fitria Praptono, 2022

Newsletter

Fridericianum als Schule

Fridskul

Während der documenta fifteen wird das Fridericianum zur Fridskul (Fridericianum als Schule). Der Bau dient nun zur Aufbewahrung der gemeinsamen Ressourcen wie Wissen, Geschichten und Erfahrungen. Diese „Ernte“ lagert hier nicht nur, sondern Künstler*innen aktivieren und produzieren sie. lumbung wird hier als Reisscheune erfahrbar – und zwar im Rahmen eines praktizierten Kunstverständnisses, bei dem die Trennung von Kunst und Leben aufgehoben ist.

Eines der an der Fridskul beteiligten Kollektive ist das von ruangrupa mitbegründete Gudskul aus Indonesien. Auf Einladung des Kollektivs finden im Fridericianum öffentliche Workshops, Seminare und Austausch-Formate statt. Ein Schlafsaal und eine Küche bieten den Künstler*innen die Möglichkeit, ihren Lebensmittelpunkt in das Fridericianum zu verlegen. Sie nutzen das einstige Ausstellungshaus, um dort gemeinsam zu leben, zu schlafen, zu essen, zu kochen und zu arbeiten. So entsteht ein Raum für Begegnungen, dessen Form sich im Lauf der Zeit aus seiner Nutzung ergibt.

Im Erdgeschoss des Fridericianum lädt RURUKIDS Babys, Kinder, Teenager und deren Eltern zum spielerischen Lernen und Entdecken ein. Gemeinsam schaffen lumbung-Künstler*innen, Kasseler Initiativen und die Kunstvermittler*innen, genannt sobat-sobat (Indonesisch für Freund*innen), eine sichere und anregende Umgebung, in der Kinder entspannen, spielen und frei erkunden können.

RURUKIDS ist während der Öffnungszeiten der documenta fifteen täglich geöffnet. Detaillierte Informationen zu den Workshop-Programmen und Filmvorführungen finden Sie bald hier.

Ein Querschnitt von einem gezeichneten mehrstöckigen Haus in Schwarz-Weiß. Man kann in die einzelnen Zimmer sehen, die wohnlich eingerichtet sind.

Fridskul, Zeichnung von Daniella Fitria Praptono, 2022

 

Newsletter