A network for knowledge production

Composting Knowledge

Composting Knowledge is an ongoing experimental network for knowledge production, initiated by the ruruHaus in Kassel.

Based on the idea of collectively cultivated compost, it brings together various organic materials and resources – such as knowledge, time, ideas, spaces, or funds – to be mixed, processed, and exchanged with the support of the participating organisms, generating beneficial soils to be spread in order to activate and grow local and interlocal projects as well as cooperations among the network.

Its participants are active in the creation of such actions through their own unique perspectives that embrace cooperative, non-hierarchical, neighborhood centered principles. Composting Knowledge aims to build a supporting system for these initiatives to cooperate in engaging and critical ways.

Currently the composting network reunites over twenty participants from Kassel, Tokyo, Sofia, Holualoa, Singapore, Beirut, Zurich, Toronto, Stockholm, and London, who are engaging with own capacity and pace in the spread, research and activation of the topics exchanged within the network by challenging their own practice, involving local communities and institutional partners.

The network is growing. Current members are:

  • Färgfabriken, Stockholm
  • Global Art Practice, Tokyo University of the Arts, Tokyo
  • ICA-Sofia, Sofia
  • James Jack & Donkey Mill Art Center, Hawaii
  • Myvillages, Rural School of Economics, London/Rotterdam/Berlin
  • YCAR (York Center for Asian Research), Toronto
  • Dorothee Richter, Ronald Kolb: OnCurating.org & Postgraduate Programme in Curating, ZHdK
  • knowbotiqs, Zurich
  • Sandra Schäfer, Joseph Rustom, and students, Akademie der Bildenden Künste, Munich and Académie Libanaise des Beaux Arts, Beirut
A drawing in black and white of a flower pot with various plants and flowers.

Composting Knowledge, Drawing by Daniella Fitria Praptono, 2021

Newsletter

Ein Netzwerk für Wissensproduktion

Composting Knowledge

Composting Knowledge (dt. Wissen kompostieren) ist ein fortlaufendes experimentelles Netzwerk für Wissensproduktion, das vom ruruHaus in Kassel initiiert wurde.

Ausgehend von der Idee kollektiv angelegten Komposts bringt das Projekt verschiedene organische Materialien und Ressourcen wie Wissen, Zeit, Ideen, Räume und Gelder zusammen, um sie mithilfe von Organismen – den Teilnehmer*innen – zu mischen, zu verarbeiten und auszutauschen.

Auf diese Weise soll ein Nährboden entstehen, auf dem regionale und überregionale Projekte und Kooperationen innerhalb des Netzwerks aktiviert werden und wachsen können. Seine Teilnehmer*innen tragen dazu durch ihre einzigartigen Perspektiven bei, die auf gemeinschaftlichen, nicht-hierarchischen und nachbarschaftlichen Prinzipien beruhen. Composting Knowledge möchte diese Initiativen dabei unterstützen, auf produktive und kritische Weise zusammenzuarbeiten.

Das Netzwerk bringt derzeit über zwanzig Teilnehmer*innen aus Kassel, Tokio, Sofia, Holualoa, Singapur, Beirut, Zürich, Toronto, Stockholm und London zusammen. Je nach individuellen Kapazitäten beteiligen diese sich in ihrem jeweils eigenen Tempo an der Verbreitung, Recherche und Aktivierung der innerhalb des Netzwerks ausgetauschten Themen, indem sie ihre eigenen Praxen hinterfragen sowie lokale Communities und institutionelle Partner*innen miteinbeziehen.

Das Netzwerk wächst. Derzeitige Mitglieder sind:

  • Färgfabriken, Stockholm
  • Global Art Practice, Tokyo University of the Arts, Tokio
  • ICA-Sofia, Sofia
  • James Jack & Donkey Mill Art Center, Hawaii
  • Myvillages, Rural School of Economics, London/Rotterdam/Berlin
  • YCAR (York Center for Asian Research), Toronto
  • Dorothee Richter, Ronald Kolb: OnCurating.org & Postgraduate Programme in Curating, ZHdK
  • knowbotiqs, Zürich
  • Sandra Schäfer, Joseph Rustom und Studierende, Akademie der Bildenden Künste, München und Académie Libanaise des Beaux Arts, Beirut
Eine Schwarz-Weiß-Zeichnung von einem Blumentopf mit verschiedenen Pflanzen und Blumen.

Composting Knowledge, Zeichnung von Daniella Fitria Praptono, 2021

Newsletter